top of page
Search

U.S. Navy Blue Angels Flyover



The U.S. Navy Blue Angels flyover in New York and Connecticut.

 

The U.S. Navy’s Blue Angels flyover that took place on Tuesday April 28th, was one of the most memorable moments for health care workers. The flyover lasted about 45 minutes and the Blue Angels traveled throughout most of Manhattan, down Long Island, and across the Long Island Sound, through Connecticut and back into the city.

 

I had the privilege to watch the flyover from my backyard. I sat outside at around 2:20pm intently searching the sky to see the jets flyover. It had been all over the news that day and I was excited to see the community come together. As I patiently waited I noticed my neighbors had emerged from their homes to sit on their balconies to watch the flyover as well. A few minutes passed as I readied my cameras for the action about to take place. Then a neighbor shouted “I hear them! That’s them!” Another shouted “Here they come!” I looked up into the sky as twelve fighter jets roared right passed. I clicked my camera several times and was able to get several good shots of the jets passing by. The roar of the jets and the clicks of the camera brought the whole scene alive. I was beyond lucky to have them pass directly over my house. 


However, this event was not just about the excitement of seeing the Blue Angels, this was a special event for health care workers. The path was specifically laid out so the jets would fly over several hospitals that were greatly impacted by COVID-19. Before COVID-19 communities would hold parades and other events to support first responders. This year I have looked deeply into the term first responder. I spent a good portion of my academic year capturing photos of firefighters. I had grown very close to one and my eyes were opened up to the life-threatening and fearful jobs that come with the term first responder. 


A few months ago my definition of first responder was a person who is currently or has served in the military, a police officer, EMT, or firefighter. Since then my definition of a first responder has changed as health care workers are becoming first responders. Health care workers on the front lines of hospitals impacted by COVID-19 are throwing themselves into danger to assist those during a worldwide emergency. This is a heroic and brave act. 


After much thought on this subject I decided to look up the definition of a first responder. Merriam-Webster describes a first responder as, “a person (such as a police officer or EMT) who is among those responsible for going immediately to the scene of an accident or emergency to provide assistance.” This opened my eyes to who in our society is a first responder. It is not just firefighters, EMT, and police officers, but it is our doctors and nurses who are fighting COVID-19. It is the people putting themselves in harm's way to make sure others get tested. It is the people making your coffee or restocking a grocery store shelf. So I then decided to look up who falls under the category of a first responder and the list was longer than I expected. It was not just police officers or EMT, but it was sanitation workers, trained professionals (doctors), and many others that had previously gone unnoticed and unappreciated. 


The Blue Angels flyover was not just a form of entertainment, but instead it was a form of appreciation. It brought the entire community together to show the gratefulness society has for healthcare workers and those serving on the front lines. I think our world today takes for granted the trained and highly intelligent people we have in our everyday lives. This time has allowed not just me, but my community and the world to come together and show our appreciation for everyone, especially those on the front lines fighting COVID-19. 


“First Responder.” Merriam-Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/first%20responder. Accessed 15 May 2020.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page